Brutal South
Brutal South
Episode 14: Making it through December
0:00
-47:46

Episode 14: Making it through December

My guest is the Rev. Dr. Jeremy Rutledge, the minister at Circular Congregational Church in Charleston, South Carolina.

Jeremy and I have crossed paths several times over the years. He’s involved with social justice work in Charleston, we have a lot of friends in common, and I’m pretty sure I interviewed him a few times when I worked at the newspaper. I always loved talking with him, and recording this podcast was just an excuse to talk to him again — mostly about dad stuff, actually.

I want to give a quick word of warning: We discuss death and disease and the loss of a child on this episode. If those topics are triggering for you, you might want to skip it.

Also, I’ve got a little song I recorded for the advent season, and I’ve tacked it onto the end of the show just because I can.

The Eugene Debs biography we mentioned at the top of the show is The Bending Cross by Ray Ginger, and it’s available to order via the Brutal South Bookshop page along with a lot of other radical, strange, and beautiful books I’ve mentioned in the newsletter and on the podcast this year. If you want to do some holiday shopping and throw a portion of your purchase my way while supporting independent bookstores and sticking it to Jeff Bezos, check it out at bookshop.org/shop/BrutalSouth.

The episode art is “Winter Landscape” (1909) by Wassily Kandinsky.

Share

Apple Podcasts // Spotify Podcasts // Twitter // Bookshop // Bandcamp

0 Comments
Brutal South
Brutal South
On struggles, schooling, and raw concrete in the dirty dirty south. A companion podcast to the Brutal South newsletter.