Brutal South
Brutal South
Possum Island, the audiobook
0:00
-7:01

Possum Island, the audiobook

A new piece of marsupial-centric fiction, now in recorded form

I have a new piece of short fiction out today in the Charleston City Paper Lit Issue. It’s called “Possum Island,” and you can read it online or pick up a paper if you’re in the area.

I thought it would be fun to make an audio version, so that’s what I did. Enjoy!

If you’re looking for more stuff to listen to, check out the Brutal South podcast on Apple or Spotify or wherever you get podcasts.

If you’re a possum aficionado, you might enjoy this thinkpiece I wrote about possum memes last year with the help of the novelist George Singleton:

Brutal South
5 theses about possum memes
When I posted on Twitter that I was working on a thinkpiece about possum memes, @natlyjune replied, “Possums memes made me go from being indifferent to possums to utterly hating them.” When I pressed for a reason why, they wrote, “The unbearable twee-ness…
Read more

That’s all for this week. The possum drawing is by my daughter. The music in the episode is by The Camellias.

Share

0 Comments
Brutal South
Brutal South
On struggles, schooling, and raw concrete in the dirty dirty south. A companion podcast to the Brutal South newsletter.